Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What’s the difference between a Clan and a Squad?
A: A Squad is a sub-set of a Clan.

Every Orc you have on the board has a base that contains a Clan symbol. All Orcs on the board that have the same base are part of the same Clan. A Squad is all of the Orcs of a single Clan that stand on the board in one contiguous group. Therefore, one Clan could have more than one Squad on the board at a time.

For example, you have a contiguous group of one Brute, one Tactician, and one Shaman, all of the White Tusk Clan. Elsewhere on the board, you have a different contiguous group of one White Tusk Brute and one White Tusk Shaman. In this case, you’d have two White Tusk Squads, one containing three Orcs and the other containing two.

Q: If one of my Clans has multiple Squads on the board, how do I figure out how many attribute points each Squad has available?
A: Each card in play on a Clan card counts against all of that Clan’s Squads.

Whenever an Orc Squad plays a card, you must place the card in play on the associated Clan’s Clan card. You may not place the card in play if doing so would exceed the Squad’s available Attribute score. A Squad’s available Attribute score depends on the Squad’s members, and on what cards you previously placed in play on the Clan card.

For example, let’s say you have two different White Tusk Squads on the board. The first contains a Brute, a Tactician, and a Shaman, so it has 4 points of Body, 4 points of Mind, and 4 points of Attribute X. The second contains a Brute and a Shaman, so it has 4 points of Body and 4 points of X. On your turn, you attack with the first squad, playing Filthy Claws (cost: 2 Body).

Later, an Elf attacks the second squad while the Filthy Claws card is still in play on the White Tusk Clan card. Even though it was the first Squad that played Filthy Claws, that card’s cost of 2 Body counts against both Squads. The second Squad only has 2 points of Body remaining, and therefore could not play Leathery Hide to block, since Leathery Hide costs 4 points of Body.

Q: Can one Elf or Squad of Orcs play cards to assist another?
A: No.

Any attack made by an Elf or a Squad of Orcs, or any attempt made to block such an attack, only involves the attacker or the target of the attack. For example, if the Paladin attacks while the Ranger stands beside him, the Ranger may not add Attack Mods to the Paladin’s attack. Similarly, if a White Tusk Squad is attacked, an adjacent Black Skull squad may not play blocks to help defend the White Tusks.

Q: What does it mean to pass during an Attack Sequence?
A: When you pass during an Attack Sequence, you decline the right to play a card and the priority passes to the player to your left (pg. 11).

If you pass during an Attack Sequence, you may still play cards later during the Attack Sequence. The Attack Sequence does not end until all players involved in it have passed consecutively. For example, consider the following duel:

  • Paladin plays Magical Blade (Base Attack 7)
  • Orc plays a set: Orcish Stamina (Base Block 3) and Cunning Defense (Block Mod +4)
  • Paladin plays Tactical Insight to draw cards
  • Orc passes, since at Attack Value 7 versus Block Value 7, the attack won’t succeed
  • Paladin plays Divine Sacrifice and discards 3 cards for Attack Mod +6
  • Orc player can’t beat Attack Value 13, and passes
  • Paladin player passes
The attack is over. The Paladin is victorious (Attack Value 13 versus Block Value 7).

Q: What do you do with Dirty Tricks before you use them?
A: Keep them face down in front of you. They don’t count as cards in your hand (pp. 16 and 21).

Do not reveal a Dirty Trick card until you play it. Before that time, simply keep it nearby, face down so your opponents don’t know what it is. Your Dirty Tricks don’t stay in your hand, therefore they don’t count against your hand-size limit of seven cards.

Q: If the Ranger kills some Orcs with the Wand of Slaying, does his Twin-Sword Style ability make this a Restricted action, since he successfully attacked?
A: No.

Using the Wand of Slaying does not count as an “attack” as applies to the Ranger’s special ability. Therefore using the Wand counts as an Exclusive action even when used by the Ranger to kill one or more Orcs.

Idle Outbreak Wealth of Nations Shogun Orc Wars Martinis and Men